The Board is responsible for setting the school’s strategic direction and ensuring that its school provides a safe environment and quality education for all its students. We are also responsible for overseeing the management of personnel, curriculum, property, finance and administration.

We discuss what has happened during the month, what we want to achieve in the coming month and we review the Principal’s report and the school financials. Minutes are taken and actions noted.

If you have questions or suggestions, please email us.

Board of Trustees

The Te Aro School Board of Trustees is made up of:

Sue Clement (Principal)

Eliza Bartlett (Chairperson)

Ray Teahen (Staff representative)

Jo Brett (Minute secretary)

Patrick Coelho (Trustee)

Della Laird (Trustee)

Bex Tui (Trustee)

Brandi Williamson (Trustee)

Aimee Paterson (Trustee)


Our Staff

Sue ClementPrincipal/Tumuaki
Hannah LyonsRuma TarataYear 2 & 3
Natasha Warren

Bernice McMahon
Bernice is the school’s Learning Support Coordinator. (SENCO)
Ruma TawaYear 1
Andy MackayRuma TiYear 2
Mathew QuivooyRuma KauriYear 3 & 4
Walter Taniwha Ruma NikauYear 7 & 8
Ray Teahen 
Deputy Principal
Ruma RimuYear 5 & 6
Tessa DevereuxRuma KoromikoYear 5 & 6
Anna Morgan  
Deputy Principal
Ruma KowhaiYear 3 & 4
Kristin HolmesRuma RataYear 7 & 8
Cathie Cahill
ESOL Teacher
Ruma NgaioESOL Teacher
Shelly WilsonReading Recovery teacher
Alwyn ReesTe Reo Maori Kaiako
Hemi PriceKapa Haka Kaiako
Release TeachersKatie Norton
Meena Vallabh
Jacinda Brandley
Support Staff<
Joanna BrettTeacher Aide
Miranda McDougallTeacher Aide
Adam HendryTeacher Aide
Pauline LynnTeacher Aide
Ana RodriguezTeacher Aide
Enass AlgebawiTeacher Aide
Andrew GreenTeacher Aide
Chris Barry-GossTeacher Aide
Hang NguyenTeacher Aide
Georgie O’ConnorOffice Manager
Joanna BrettOffice Administrator
Graham GoudgeCaretaker
If a child is absent for non-medical reasons, please let the school know beforehand.